Discouraged

My 365 has been chugging along very slowly of late. I still take daily of pictures, but I am missing something.   I thought it was the early nights, and cold weather, but it would appear that is not the case. Days are getting warmer, time has changed, and I still don’t take pictures that I am happy with, and that gets me down.

It used to be that I would sit at the computer every couple of days and try to narrow down the picture that I would use for each day.  It wasn’t an easy task, and I often called upon Willy to help me decide on “the one” for each day. I don’t remember the last time that happened.  It seems that I now look at the pictures again and again, to try to decide if any of them are for posting, or forcing one to be worthy.

I’ve tried to ignore my camera, but I truly love to take pictures, so that is not working.  Staging shots hasn’t been working, neither have my tried and true tips that I save for inspiration.  Looking at the work of other photographers that I love just discourages me a little bit more, so I don’t linger on their stuff these days.  In the end I keep going and won’t give up, but I need to figure out how to get back on track.  This shouldn’t be a chore.

About lilbunnyrabbitz

Ottawa mom to two crazy little peeps, wife to my favourite geek. More on me later.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Discouraged

  1. Ken Walker says:

    Think outside the box (or frame). Take pictures of things you don’t normally do? I’m not into the whole 365 thing but encourage those who are doing it!

  2. neeroc says:

    Why not try something new? Use your iPhone. Find some apps, heavily edit some pics, do your film challenge, take a photo walk. Or. Just take one single pic a day for a week. Take your camera to work and snap passage by or scenes out the window. Anything to shake it up for ya.

  3. Tamara says:

    No idea what to say, I’ve been in many creative ruts before but for the life of me, I don’t know how I got myself out exactly. I think I usually had a tantrum than completely changed focus and activity, not helpful here. I get not wanting to look at the work of others, I’ve had to force myself to look

    What I’ve been doing lately is thinking of one word, one colour, one object. I seem to gravitate towards more bold and graphic images, so this method seems to fit. Might not work for you.

    As you know, I work with my iPhone and an app for the 365 (as your sister suggested 🙂 ), I find this eliminates a bunch of information from my head and I can focus on the image and do whatever I like with it, no rules. Put a camera in my hands and I start to think about aperture and white balance and depth of field, etc. all important, but I would have never created the images I have with my DSLR. I would have never started a 365.

    I have faith you’ll get back on track and in your own style; I’m looking forward to it!

  4. Lara says:

    Ugh! It’s frustrating isn’t it? I had to take a huge break because I wasn’t happy with what I was doing/taking. My 50 gave me new inspiration and being outside has helped me too. Have you seen the colour challenge on the flickr group for Kids in the Capital? Look for yellow?

Leave a Reply

