Meeting new people

I went out for drinks this week with some friends. We had a lovely time, chatting and laughing, enjoying each other’s company. It was a much-needed break for me after a hard day and I left feeling very refreshed. As I left though, I had a fleeting thought that my parents would not have approved of this!

It’s not the fun that they would object too, although there was many a day when I was certain that my mom’s main role in life was to ensure that I didn’t have fun. It was the fact that I had met four of these people online. Two of them I had never met before that night. The girlfriend that I went with? She had never met any of them.

Prior to last summer, I would have never guessed that I would have done this. That was before I really started using twitter, started reading so many local blogs, and writing this blog. Through these experiences, I got to know most of the people who I have met, and felt completely comfortable in going. I now have another thought, one that I am not sure how to reconcile. How am I going to explain this to my children when the time comes?  “It’s OK for Mommy, but not for you?”  Thankfully I have time to think it through.

About lilbunnyrabbitz

Ottawa mom to two crazy little peeps, wife to my favourite geek. More on me later.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Meeting new people

  1. Somekindofmom says:

    We spend a lot of time getting to know one another by reading our blogs and developing friendships on twitter. So in a way when we finally do meet these strangers in person, it’s like we knew them all along.

Leave a Reply

